A 58-story skyscraper in San Francisco is tilting and sinking

signalmankenneth

Verified User
A 58-story skyscraper in San Francisco is tilting and sinking — and residents say their multimillion-dollar condos are 'nearly worthless'

I wonder if they fix this problem, but I doubt it?!!

https://www.businessinsider.com/is-...eaning-sinking-2017-9?amp;utm_medium=referral

fe6d9ff31d17daece449e91c600180d5--view-source-titanic.jpg

sinking.jpg

'Leaning Tower of Pisa'. It could be another tourist attraction. Try to look on the positive side, SK.

Who are the Structural Engineers? It's not like that building is the first skyscraper in San Fran.

As a structural engineer myself, I have been following this situation. I call this a "negotiated structural solution", where the owner negotiated with the foundation engineer on the design. Having been in that situation myself probably dozens of times, where an owner wanted me to "cheapen up" on my design, my response has always been: "physics is non-negotiable".

So the engineer of record is shitting his pants, the owner is looking to sue him, and lawyers are getting overtime pay. Exciting situation, and one where I have easily avoided by being willing to walk away from a job when hired by that type of owner.

The owner may have saved $500,000. The engineer may have been paid $100,000, and this will end his career. The building is likely worth many multiples of that. It will need to be demolished before it collapses and kills hundreds of people.

As a structural engineer myself, I have been following this situation. I call this a "negotiated structural solution", where the owner negotiated with the foundation engineer on the design. Having been in that situation myself probably dozens of times, where an owner wanted me to "cheapen up" on my design, my response has always been: "physics is non-negotiable".