Classical Training

Boris The Animal

It's Just Boris!
As many of you know, I've been a bassist for just around 30 years. For the most part, I've approached the role almost exclusively from an Electric Bass approach with just a rudimentary understanding of the Double Bass (For those of you who don't know, Double Bass is the proper term to describe an upright bass). I've owned two other uprights but never had any pleasure in playing either one of them. Either a crappy setup, crappy strings, or both. I've sold both of them off. I just acquired and Samuel Shen SB-80 Double Bass and had it properly set up with D'Addario Helicore strings. So now, I find playing the double bass to be a real treat. So much so I started taking classical lessons from one of the top Double Bass instructors in Western New York, Paul Zapalowski. He performs with the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra, the Amherst Symphony, The Phil Sims Quintet, The Barroom Buzzards, and has been with a veritable who's who on the big band circuit. I'm working out of book one of the Simandl method which is THE go-to book for Double Bass instruction. On that note, I implore any musician to consider Classical lessons in their respective instruments if they haven't already done so. Believe me, it will benefit you in the long run.

Cool stuff. I play in an acoustic blues/rock/folk duo. We've had bassists sit in with us on occasion. For the stuff we do, I prefer the sound of the double bass over the electric....but either works to fill our sound out.

I do a cover of Gordon Lightfoot's "Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald" and one time a guy with a double bass sat in with us....he used a bow early and switched to fingers as the song progressed. It made it very powerful and memorable.

Well, I've also been mulling over the idea of joining a local community symphony orchestra in a couple of months.

What genre do you play now? Maybe I didn't get the gist of your OP title. Are you classically trained now or looking to?