Does inflation skew the GDP ?

uscitizen

Villified User
I really don't know, but does inflation skew the GDP in an upward direction when there is really no growth at all ?

I really don't know, but does inflation skew the GDP in an upward direction when there is really no growth at all ?

Yes it does.

It screws both nominal and real GDP as costs increase of materials and purchases of goods and services increase solely due to inflationary pressures...

CK

Good question by the way....Thats why even during the worst periods of the Bush Presidency...economic growth managed to just be above 0%....

CK

So in real terms we are in a recession and inflation is cooking the books ?

Yes exactly....

Because GDP only looks at the macro numbers.....

Aka you purchase 100 tons of wheat in 2005 for $100

and you purchase 100 tons of wheat in 2008 for $150

Your GDP went up 50%!

CK

Come on SF Chappy, etc is this right ? And would the rising price of gas also boost the GDP ?

I am not an expert Like topper, but suspect this to be true, and that we have been living in a real recession or near one for some time. As far as consumers / wage earners go anyway.

While GDP can be skewed by inflation, when economic growth is calculated from GDP figures, it is usually adjusted for inflation.

Come on SF Chappy, etc is this right ? And would the rising price of gas also boost the GDP ?

I am not an expert Like topper, but suspect this to be true, and that we have been living in a real recession or near one for some time. As far as consumers / wage earners go anyway.

:rolleyes:

You think you've found out something huge don't you?

While GDP can be skewed by inflation, when economic growth is calculated from GDP figures, it is usually adjusted for inflation.

Thanks, I thought so and you saved me from having to check.