Education thread revisited

Thorn

Well, we lost our thread to a discussion on the political aspects of war strategy. I still think that Education is a good topic for the few of us who are interested in discussing it further, so here's a virtual "bump" of the topic for those who care.

Here's the last education-related post from that thread:

Originally Posted by Kathianne
I curious, what would you like to see changed in education? What do you think the purpose of schools, (k-12) should be? What do you think the challenges are, today regarding financing, qualifications of teachers, expectations of the public, and the differences in student populations across the country?

I'd appreciate if any responders would say whether or not they are currently parents, students, teachers, or just plain old taxpayers. Thanks.

BTW, I'm a teacher.

Sorry, I didn't mean to comment and run, but am under some serious time constraints for a while.

I'll partially comment on an earlier post by Epicurius as well, in which he felt it wasn't right to hold all students to the same standard.