Why humans yawn - THINKTANK

Part Multi 313

Verified User
I was watching a YouTube video on things that science can't explain and scientists haven't figured out why humans yawn. Wild primates also yawn. Small mammals yawn. I personally haven't seen birds or reptiles yawn and of course bugs don't yawn. Mammals have larger brains than the other animals so maybe physiology has something to do with it.

I am not a scientist and hold no advanced scientific certification from a trusted source so I am going to just use my best sensibilities and knowledge, with the help of other JPP users, to get to the answer on this scientific mystery.

First, what do we know about what it's like to yawn? Well, most yawns are involuntary but if you can feel a yawn coming on you can hold it off or even not yawn at all, but the urge yawn will press you. Second, for me personally, the urge to yawn happens usually when I am exhausted or tired. When I'm up for 22 hours and feel like I'm going to fall asleep sitting up it always seems like immediately after I yawn I am temporarily relieved from that feeling of "I'm going to fall asleep without knowing it." Third, yawns are contagious. Sort of like mass hysteria or other similar contagious behavior. If someone else yawns in a large group of people chances are that another person will yawn soon. I involuntarily yawned following a yawn of someone else many times. Fourth, I can't remember a yawn that happened while doing something physically demanding, the yawn always seems to happen while sedentary and at rest, while heartrate is slow and breathing is slow. While being very tired and at work I have yawned, so it seems that being very tired is the only exception. But, if you are wide awake with plenty of sleep, being stationary with a low pulse seems to be condusive to a healthy yawn.