DOW head and shoulders... Question...

Jarod

Contributor
I don't know much about patterns in stock charts, but I have been learning a little...

Does the 1 year DOW chart appear to be a classic head and shoulders pattern? Is that a legit pattern to be applying to the DOW in general or does it only work with individual stocks? Is a one year chart where to look for the head and shoulders pattern or do you look at shorter time periods?

I am by no means an expert on charts but I do have some skills. Here is what I see.

3 month and 6 month look like classic head and shoulders.

1 year looks less clear to me

Daily looks like a double top which is itself bad.

A couple of things worry me about this run up. One is that it's breadth is really low meaning fewer and fewer companies are driving it up. Two is that volume is low. Three is that after the initial drop in Jan I would have expected a quicker rise.

I am still in cash and have open positions in SIL and GDX and FXC

topspin never wants to give me credit for the calls I get right ;)

I am by no means an expert on charts but I do have some skills. Here is what I see.

3 month and 6 month look like classic head and shoulders.

1 year looks less clear to me

Daily looks like a double top which is itself bad.

A couple of things worry me about this run up. One is that it's breadth is really low meaning fewer and fewer companies are driving it up. Two is that volume is low. Three is that after the initial drop in Jan I would have expected a quicker rise.

I am still in cash and have open positions in SIL and GDX and FXC

topspin never wants to give me credit for the calls I get right ;)

Am I wrong that you are generally bearish over the last 5 years or so?

Am I wrong that you are generally bearish over the last 5 years or so?

Yes. You are wrong. I was obviously bearish through 2009. Didn't go long until I was sure of uptrend.