I'm no lawyer , but...

Cancel 2018.1

This is why I believe a tax to pay for health care is unconstitutional.
Taxes are imposed to pay for govt. services. Healthcare is not a govt. service unless it is performed by the govt. which would mean docs, et al would have to be govt. employees.

ACA makes it illegal to not buy health ins. and not doing so would incur a penalty or as Chief Justice Roberts called it, a tax.

To me this is clearly govt. intrusion telling us it is a crime to not buy a commodity or a service which has nothing to do with a person's rights or privilege.
Obviously it's a crime to not have car insurance if owning and driving a vehicle since a license is needed for that purpose making driving a privilege, not a right.

Also, why shouldn't a person have the right to go without hlth. ins.? After all there is no license needed for being alive.

Discuss.

It's not an easy discussion. How do you feel about repealing EMTALA? Do you think people would be more apt to carry insurance?

This is why I believe a tax to pay for health care is unconstitutional.
Taxes are imposed to pay for govt. services. Healthcare is not a govt. service unless it is performed by the govt. which would mean docs, et al would have to be govt. employees.

ACA makes it illegal to not buy health ins. and not doing so would incur a penalty or as Chief Justice Roberts called it, a tax.

To me this is clearly govt. intrusion telling us it is a crime to not buy a commodity or a service which has nothing to do with a person's rights or privilege.
Obviously it's a crime to not have car insurance if owning and driving a vehicle since a license is needed for that purpose making driving a privilege, not a right.

Also, why shouldn't a person have the right to go without hlth. ins.? After all there is no license needed for being alive.

Discuss.

Does the government build bridges and roads? Nope. They contract to do so. The same with any number of government "services"