Montessori

Chapdog

Abreast of the situations
Anybody have an opinion of Montessori method?

My son is starting there this Tuesday.. hes 3.5. figure we will do for 2 years before kinder.

My son is starting there this Tuesday.. hes 3.5. figure we will do for 2 years before kinder.

I don't know a lot about it other than kids are encouraged to follow their curiosities and learn about what they want to at their own pace. It's hard to voice concerns without further info.

Am I even right about this part?

Not really..............

I am old school...it is up to the individual not the school that makes one great...Parents are the clue...not the school...all greatness begins at home!

yes its basically self-directed activity.. kind of less structure.. meant to get kid to be the motivation behind own learning.. tho the teachers use psychology to guide them to make those decisions. Im no expert.. it was just best school close enough to my house to send him 2.

I went to such a school and I really liked it, it clearly is not for everyone. Some kids need more structure than such a school provides. I dont think it matters so much for kids who are 3-5 years old.

Okay, you live in Massachusetts, send your kid to Montessori, you'll probably be driving a Volvo soon, and drinking expensive Chardonnay. Just give it to your liberal impulses. Looks like you'll be voting Green Party soon.

LOL what makes u think i dont vote dem? I actually did mostly blue in 06.

But im an independent and have very specific opinions about some issues.

It is very good for children who need structure. Your freethinkers get a little bored with the repetition of their tasks. It really depends on the, teacher, yes ladies and gentlemen, the teacher!

It does socialize them, too. I know you will be sure to track his attention and supplement his education at home!