RIP Anthony Bourdain

Mott the Hoople

Sweet Jane
Shocking news this morning. World traveler and chef Anthony Bourdain committed suicide.

I’m terribly saddened. I loved his show and his conversational manner of story telling.

I could relate to Bourdain’s background as I worked in the restaurant business in high school and college and could relate to the characters he wrote about and the drug culture/outsider status of workers in that business from personal experience.

It’s a sad day today.

travel well my talented friend

we need to treat depression in this nation

Do you think Bourdain couldn't afford psychiatric treatment? I'm not trying to be a jerk evince, but your point is rather silly. Are you suggesting we should force people to undergo treatment for depression against their will?

Do you think Bourdain couldn't afford psychiatric treatment? I'm not trying to be a jerk evince, but your point is rather silly. Are you suggesting we should force people to undergo treatment for depression against their will?

when it becomes standard practice to treat it instead of to ignore it more people will be willing to ask for help

how do other countries deal with it idiot

they treat all mental illness

not just the cases that make some asshole money

I would contribute to a Fund for the Forum Groupie, That Owl Woman. She seems starved for attention and is reaching out in her desperate call for Help.

What makes you think it's not standard practice?

There is still a huge stigma against mental illness in this country, including depression. Just look at how we here throw psychiatric labels as insults at each other. "She's not well," "You're a psycho," "He's insane," "Kill yourself," etc. People are often reluctant to seek treatment because of that stigma. Others find the medications difficult to tolerate. And unfortunately, the risk of suicide is sometimes highest right after the person first begins taking anti-depressants.