Share your 9/11 story...

I was a sophomore at Shorecrest High School. Since it was a Tuesday, I was headed off to a B Day, meaning periods 2-4-6, with English 10 being my morning class. Before I left home, my mom mentioned to me in a concerned voice that she heard on the radio that there had been some sort of major incident in NY.

On my way across the campus, I walked passed a group of girls who were making light of the situation by sarcastically saying "OMG the world is ending - we're all gonna die." My teacher, Mrs. Brown, turned on the TV and had us write our reaction in our notebooks.

I was a sophomore at Shorecrest High School. Since it was a Tuesday, I was headed off to a B Day, meaning periods 2-4-6, with English 10 being my morning class. Before I left home, my mom mentioned to me in a concerned voice that she heard on the radio that there had been some sort of major incident in NY.

On my way across the campus, I walked passed a group of girls who were making light of the situation by sarcastically saying "OMG the world is ending - we're all gonna die." My teacher, Mrs. Brown, turned on the TV and had us write our reaction in our notebooks.

Shorecrest HS in Pinellas County?

Wow, insightful of Mrs. Brown. Do you still have your notebook? It would be an interesting project to collect copies of those notebook and make a compilation book.

I woke up late taking the early morning off as I did not have any court appearances that morning, my division partner was doing a trial. As I got ready to head in I saw on television that a plane had hit WTC and that there was a fire. I remembered that something like that had happened a few weeks earlier at the Statute of Liberty so I figured it would be an interesting story to watch the rebuilding of the top of that tower.