Steel Buildings

Being a civil/ structural guy I can see the humor here.

I have no background in contracting at all. None. All I know is I need a way to climate control a place on my property that isn't my basement because that just flooded two nights ago.

A "steel building" in the industry means a "pre-engineered" system of shop-welded plate steel frames, often free span and generally 20 to 30 feet on center. The frames are bolted to individual footings and a concrete slab-on-grade is poured for the floor. The roof and sides are supported perpendicular to the frames by rolled sheet steel "girts", typically 8" deep in a Z profile. Is this what you have?

A "steel building" in the industry means a "pre-engineered" system of shop-welded plate steel frames, often free span and generally 20 to 30 feet on center. The frames are bolted to individual footings and a concrete slab-on-grade is poured for the floor. The roof and sides are supported perpendicular to the frames by rolled sheet steel "girts", typically 8" deep in a Z profile. Is this what you have?

I don't know about the girts. I've got an 8,500 sq. ft. building, it looks like a small airplane hanger and it was pre-fab and dropped on a concrete slab. It leaks something awful. I need a roughly 200 sq. ft space to put some electronic equipment in and I have to be able to climate control the building. I'm not sure I can do that with my existing building. Maybe build another one is what I'm thinking. Steel seems to be what the contractors are pushing but maybe something else is better? I'm thinking cinder block maybe. Like I said, this is not my area of expertise.