Weight loss ideas for seniors

Mason Michaels

Verified User
Since a prostate cancer operation have gained 20 lbs.
I go work out at the pool
6 days a week
Getting no where
losing weight.
Any ideas,or things that
worked for you
men in there 60's

6 days a week
Getting no where
losing weight.
Any ideas,or things that
worked for you
men in there 60's

I'm not 60, but decreasing carbs, and processed sugars, makes your body burn fat for fuel. I also rely heavily on Dannon Triple zero yogurts for my sweet snack.

I am not a nutritional expert, and I am not 60, but this is what worked for me to get down to and maintain my ideal weight:

Exercise is not enough, I had to really think about what I was putting in my body.

40-60 minutes walking every day.
3 days a week strength training.
Recreational kayaking, or hiking, weekends
East more protein, eat less carbohydrates and less dairy. I eat a lot of fish.
Do not drink beer, do not eat a lot of bread.
Food portion control.
Do not ever buy junk food at the grocery store. If you don't have it around the house, you won't be eating it.
Snacks = fruit, nuts, yogurt, seeds, pretzels, popcorn.

I really found cutting back carbohydrates and dairy to be one of the most effective things I could do, along with a concerted effort at aerobic activity. I think strength training really helps too,.

Last edited:
I’m not a male in my 60’s but a female and the advice above is what I do. Limit my carbs and sugar, increase your good proteins, learn to love fruits and veggies.

Good luck

6 days a week
Getting no where
losing weight.
Any ideas,or things that
worked for you
men in there 60's
I swim 3 - 4 workouts a week, do a training plan for 5k three times a week, cross country ski, sometimes cycle (push it hard as I can) , try to eat healthy but occasionally sneak in a burger which screws up everything. I was 5'11", 185 with a goal to get to 175 and haven't cracked below 180 for over 20 yrs. Tried everything so I hear your frustration.